Reece Lab

Evolutionary Genetics and Conservation Biology

Lab Members & Research

Head Honcho

cropped-reece.jpg

Dr. Joshua Reece

(joshua_reece@csufresno.edu)

 

Formally: I am an evolutionary biologist who also works in conservation biology. Students in my lab work on a wide range of projects, but they typically work on either molecular phylogenetics, comparative phylogenetic methods, or conservation planning in the context of climate change.

Informally: I love natural history, field work, and working with students. My hobbies currently include surviving fatherhood.

Graduate Students

20160923_113816

Chris Jorgensen

(christopherj@mail.fresnostate.edu)

I am a graduate student here at Fresno State! My background and interests involve studying the population genetics of mammals, and using phylogenetics to predict how future land use change will affect species of special concern in the next century.

 

Rachel Morrow

(cherryblossom94@mail.fresnostate.edu)

I am a first-year graduate student here at Fresno State! I am studying Western Pond Turtles and using genetics to identify species and assist zoos with captive breeding programs.

2018-04-14 09.28.06_preview

Shelby Moshier

(spmoshier@mail.fresnostate.edu)

I am a first-year graduate student interested in studying phylogenetics, conservation biology, and geographic information systems. In the lab, I am currently working on a project involving California’s bird species and the distribution of avian vulnerability on the phylogenetic tree of California’s native birds. I am also working on a project investigating the impact of coastal dredging on beach biodiversity in Morro Bay, CA.

Undergraduate Students

img_2335.jpg

Robert Seward

(seward@mail.fresnostate.edu)

I am an undergraduate biology major interested in marine biology. My research involves studying how coastal dredging impacts the biodiversity of coastal ecosystems, specifically in Morro Bay. I also love chemistry!

Saramae Parker

Lexi Walker

Claire Evangelho

Daisy Xiong

snowy day

Bryant Coleman

(bcoleman273@mail.fresnostate.edu)

I am an undergraduate biology major interested in conservation and marine biology.

Francisco and Hagfish

Francisco Barajas

(fbarajas@mail.fresnostate.edu)

I’m a cool dude who likes the fun atmosphere of SF.

Gurjap

Gurjap Dhaliwal

(gurjap_dhaliwal@yahoo.com)

I like trees.